PeacePRISM

PeacePRISM (PRISM: Peace Research and International Statistics Mapper) is an application that aims to make indicators and tools accessible to the general public and researchers, in order to visualize the state of the world and its evolution over the past decades, with a focus on peace and conflict issues.

An interactive demo of PeacePRISM v 1.1.1 is available here:
http://cybis.univ-grenoble-alpes.fr/peace-prism

Version 1.1.1 shows data from the Correlates Of War project - http://www.correlatesofwar.org/data-sets

Another version (PeacePRISM v1.B) exists but is not currently online. In addition to the above version, it also shows interactive graphics, and conflict zones (PRIO database). Below are two screenshots and a video of PeacePRISM v1.B.

PeacePRISM v1B - Regime durability (years since laste regime change) and armed conflicts (PRIO dataset)
PeacePRISM v1B - Regime durability (number of years since the last regime change - Correlates Of War data) et zones des conflits armés (données PRIO, en violet). and armed conflict zones (PRIO data, in purple). It can be seen that in 1991, most countries at war were politically unstable (age of political regime between 0 and 2 years)
Histogram - regime durability
PeacePRISM v1B - Histograme interactif montrant la variable "Regime durability" (Durabilité du régime: nombre d'années depuis le dernier changement de régime - données Correlates Of War). The tooltip shows that, in the dataset, for 15.6% of cases (country-years), the political system is less than one year old.

NOTE: The data, maps and graphs presented here should not be used for analysis, as quality controls are ongoing (bugs may remain).

Web development: Mayeul Kauffmann, Guy Tokarski, Rémy Drouilhet (Partnership University Grenoble Alpes - Ecole de la Paix de Grenoble).

Below is a video of the PeacePRISM v1B version (vocal comments in French).

video

PeacePRISM

PeacePRISM (PRISM : Peace Research and International Statistics Mapper) est une application qui vise à rendre accessible au grand public et aux chercheurs des indicateurs et outils permettant de visualiser l'état du monde et son évolution au cours des dernières décennies, en insistant sur les questions relatives à la paix et aux conflits.

L'application interactive PeacePRISM v 1.1.1 est disponible ici:
http://cybis.univ-grenoble-alpes.fr/peace-prism

La version 1.1.1 montre des données du projet Correlates Of War - http://www.correlatesofwar.org/data-sets

Une autre version (PeacePRISM v1.B) existe mais n'est pas actuellement en ligne. Elle montre, en plus, des graphiques interactifs, et des zones de conflits (base de données du PRIO). Ci-dessous sont visibles deux copies d'écran et une vidéo de PeacePRISM v1.B.

PeacePRISM v1B - Regime durability (years since laste regime change) and armed conflicts (PRIO dataset)
PeacePRISM v1B - Regime durability (Durabilité du régime: nombre d'années depuis le dernier changement de régime - données Correlates Of War) et zones des conflits armés (données PRIO, en violet). On voit qu'en 1991, la plupart des pays en guerre sont politiquement instables (âge du régime politique compris entre 0 et 2 ans)
Histogram - regime durability
PeacePRISM v1B - Histogramme interactif montrant la variable "Regime durability" (Durabilité du régime: nombre d'années depuis le dernier changement de régime - données Correlates Of War). L'infobulle montre que, dans le jeu de données, pour 15.6% des cas (années-pays), le régime politique a moins d'un an.
Échanges diplomatiques sur la carte interactive (Cybis - Ecole de la paix)
Échanges diplomatiques sur la carte interactive (Cybis - Ecole de la paix)

 

NOTE: Les données, cartes et graphiques présentés ici ne devraient pas être utilisés pour l'analyse, dans la mesure où les contrôles de qualité sont en cours (des bogues peuvent subsister).

Développement applicatif: Mayeul Kauffmann, Guy Tokarski, Rémy Drouilhet (Partenariat Université Grenoble Alpes - École de la Paix de Grenoble).

Vidéo ci-dessous de la version PeacePRISM v1B (commentaires en français).

video